Philharmonia Orchestra - B7

Santtu-Matias Rouvali and Nicola Benedetti

© Andy Gotts

Tuesday 19th April 2022 | 19:30h

Auditorio Nacional de Música de Madrid - Symphonic Hall

Approximate duration: 115 minutes


Beethoven Violin Concerto in D Major, op.61

Tchaikovsky Symphony nº 5

Among Beethoven's entire oeuvre we find only one violin concerto. It is said that its composition, dedicated to the virtuoso Franz Clement, was somewhat rushed by deadlines and the violinist went on stage with an original score full of notations and corrections that he had to sort through intuitively. Although the public reception was good, the work was incomprehensibly overlooked until, decades later, a young Josef Joachim rehabilitated the score with Mendelssohn's supervision and it began to be performed assiduously. Today the Violin Concerto in D Major, op.61 is standard repertoire for this instrument and on this occasion we will enjoy it in a performance by the Scottish violinist, Nicola Benedetti with the Philharmonia Orchestra, conducted by Santtu-Matias Rouvali. After the interval, we will be able to enjoy the Philharmonia performing Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony.



Philharmonia Orchestra
Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin

Subscribe to Ibermúsica 22/23

Enjoy exclusive benefits and discounts for subscribers.
Preferred seating. Flexible payment. Free cancellation.